Australia announces sanctions against Abramovich, Miller, Shuvalov and 30 other Russian businessmen and their families

The Australian authorities have announced new sanctions against 33 Russian entrepreneurs and their immediate families. This is stated in a statement by Australian Foreign Minister Maris Payne.

Australia announces sanctions

Among those included in the sanctions, lists are the owner of the Chelsea football club Roman Abramovich, the head of Gazprom Alexei Miller, the chairman of the board of directors of Rossiya Bank Dmitry Lebedev, the head of Rostec Sergey Chemezov, the head of Transneft Nikolay Tokarev, the chairman VEB.RF Igor Shuvalov and head of the Russian Direct Investment Fund Kirill Dmitriev.

Earlier, Australia joined the sanctions against Russia, which the United States, the European Union and other countries imposed due to the recognition of the independence of the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk People’s Republics and the Russian invasion of Ukraine. The restrictions included Russian banks, high-ranking politicians and officials, including President Vladimir Putin.